Athletics News - UNLV
UNLV Hall Of Fame Nominations Now Being Accepted

Feb. 4, 2002

Click Here for Hall of Fame Official Nomination Form
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Nominations are now being accepted for induction to the UNLV Athletic Hall of Fame, the school announced Monday.

To be eligible for the Class of 2002, former student-athletes must have left the school by 1992 or prior and coaches and staff must have left their position at the school by 1997 or prior. Categories are: athlete, coach, athletic staff, team and distinguished contributor.

The nomination process is open to the public and the deadline for receiving the completed form is March 15, 2002. The official form is available on the front page of the athletic department's official website All entries must include a current address and phone number of the person being nominated. For more information regarding nominations call 895-3832.

The hall's Class of 2002 will be inducted Friday, Sept. 6, to coincide with the next day's home football game with the University of Kansas.

Born in 1987, the hall last welcomed a class on Oct. 6, 2000, with the induction of the 1989-90 national champion men's basketball team, record-setting swimmers Bart Pippenger and Sally Fleisher, track stars Trena Hull and Lisa Thompson, women's basketball standout Pauline Jordan and distinguished contributor Bob Blum.

A complete list of the current members follows.



Rene Arceneaux* Distinguished Contributor 1994 Dr. Thomas Armour Staff 1987 Dr. Donald Baepler Administration 1994 Roger Barnson* Administration/Coach 1987 Ernie Becker, Sr. Distinguished Contributor 1988 Rex Bell Distinguished Contributor 1998 Bob Blum Distinguished Contributor 2000 Dr. Kathie Calloway Athlete/Basketball 1994 Glenn Carano Athlete/Football 1989 Jack Cason Distinguished Contributor 1994 Bob Cline Distinguished Contributor 1989 Dr. David Cohen Athlete/Soccer 1994 Randall Cunningham Athlete/Football 1997 Michael Chub Drakulich Administration/Coach 1987 Sally Fleisher Athlete/Swimming 2000 Bob Florence Athlete/Basketball 1987 Ralph Garcia Athlete/Baseball 1989 Armen Gilliam Athlete/Basketball 1998 Glen Gondrezick Athlete/Basketball 1987 Sidney Green Athlete/Basketball 1994 Mike "Cowboy" Haverty Athlete/Football 1988 Nate Hawkins Athlete/Football 1987 Christina Hixson Distinguished Contributor 1997 Trena Hull Athlete/Track & Field 2000 Joe Ingersoll Athlete/Football 1987 Bill Ireland Administration/Coach 1987 Pauline Jordan Athlete/Basketball 2000 Sam King Athlete/Football 1994 Tony Knap Coach/Football 1989 Todd Liebenstein Athlete/Football 1994 Don Lyons Athlete/Basketball, Track 1987 Alice Mason Administration/Coach 1987 Elburt Miller Athlete/Basketball 1987 Aaron Mitchell Athlete/Football 1989 Ken Mitchell Athlete/Football 1989 Bill "Wildcat" Morris Distinguished Contributor 1987 Michael Morton Athlete/Football 1994 Dave Pearl Administration 1994 Dr. Wayne Pearson Administration 1994 Bart Pippenger Athlete/Swimming 2000 Art Plunkett Athlete/Football 1994 Herb Pryor Athlete/Baseball 1988 Marilyn Redd* Distinguished Contributor 1997 Jackie Robinson Athlete/Basketball 1994 Brad Rothermel Administration 1998 Tommy Rowland Athlete/Football 1994 Robbie Ryerson Athlete/Soccer 1998 Robert Smith Athlete/Basketball 1987 Ricky Sobers Athlete/Basketball 1987 Raymond Strong Athlete/Football 1989 Jerry Tarkanian Administration/Coach 1998 Sheila Tarr Athlete/Track & Field 1997 Reggie Theus Athlete/Basketball 1989 Mike Thomas Athlete/Football 1989 Misty Thomas Athlete/Basketball 1997 Lisa Thompson Athlete/Track & Field 2000 R.E. "Doc" Tobler Team Doctor/Trainer 1989 Scott Warner Athlete/Men's Tennis 1998 Tom Wiesner Distinguished Contributor 1994 Matt Williams Athlete/Baseball 1997 Elbert "Ickey" Woods Athlete/Football 1998



1958-59 Men's Basketball Squad 1989 1967-68 Men's Basketball Squad 1989 1968 Football Squad 1987 1974 Football Squad 1988 1976-77 Men's Basketball Squad 1987 1979 Football Squad 1994 1980 Baseball Squad 1994 1986-87 Men's Basketball Squad 1998 1989-90 Men's Basketball Squad 2000

Online Store