Athletics News - UNLV
Female Student-Athletes Honored

May 3, 2000

LAS VEGAS - The UNLV Women's Sports Foundation hosted its annual awards banquet for female student-athletes Tuesday. Athletes from each sport were honored for their hard work and dedication in and out of athletics. Rookie of the Year, Coaches Award, and Most Valuable Player awards were presented by the member's respective head coaches.

The evening was capped by the announcement of the nominees for the UNLV Female Athlete of the Year. Sophomore Lorena Diaconescu, Senior Katarina Malec, and Junior Linda Fröhlich each excelled at the collegiate level and received MVP accolades in their respective sports. The winner of the award will not be announced until the end of the school year.

Junior forward Linda Fröhlich led the Rebels in scoring, rebounding, and steals this season and was a three-time MWC Player of the Week. She was a first team All-MWC member and was honored as the conference's Player of the Year. Fröhlich was All-America for two separate agencies and was the 1998-99 National Freshman of the Year.

Women's tennis No. 1 player, Katarina Malec has a current national ranking of No. 28 in singles and No. 28 in doubles. She dominated the league with a 35-5 overall record and earned the conference's Player of the Year award. The All-MWC member in both singles and doubles has not lost a single set since February 25th.

Freestyle specialist Lorena Diaconescu led her swim team to an 8-2 record this season. She was named MWC Swimmer of the Year and became the first female to earn All-America status in three events (100, 200, and 500-free) during a single NCAA Championship. The freestyler broke three UNLV individual school records and was a member of two relay teams that downed two more. The 1996 Olympian will compete in the 2000 Sydney Olympics for her native country of Romania.



Rookie - Constance Jinks

Coaches - Dayna Gambill and Erin Johannson

MVP - Linda Fröhlich


Rookie - Whitney Phelps

Coaches - Carrie Knopp

MVP - Lorena Diaconescu

Cross Country

Rookie - Jenni Nelson

Coaches - Katie Barto

MVP - Stephanie Davidson


Rookie - Amela Hadziosmanovic

Coaches - Veronica Goude

MVP - Katarina Malec


Rookie - Cristyn Enea

Coaches - Marni Polakow

MVP - Anita Pedford


Rookie - Leiana Oswald

Coaches - Angie Sylvas

MVP - Christel Eves


Rookie - Celeste Alvarado

Coaches - Debbie Hatch

MVP - Nicole Miller


Rookie - Dani Jean Duncan

Coaches - Jamie and Katie Marvel

MVP - Nora Hunt

Track - will give upon completion of season (end of May)

Online Store