Runnin' Rebels Seeded No. 2 For
Phillips 66 MWC Championship
Wink Adams and the Runnin' Rebels will face TCU in the quarterfinals of the MWC Tournament on Thursday at 6 p.m.
Wink Adams and the Runnin' Rebels will face TCU in the quarterfinals of the MWC Tournament on Thursday at 6 p.m.

March 8, 2008

LAS VEGAS - The UNLV men's basketball team finished the 2007-08 Mountain West Conference season in second place in the league standings, two games back of league-champion BYU, and earned the No. 2 seed for next week's Phillips 66 MWC Men's Basketball Championship, which will be held at the Thomas & Mack Center, March 12-15.

This year marks the second straight season that UNLV finished second in the league standings and also earned an identical conference record to last year of 12-4.

The Runnin' Rebels (23-7, 12-4) will face No. 7 seed TCU (14-15, 6-10) in the 6 p.m. quarterfinal on Thursday, March 13. The game will be televised live on both CBS College Sports (formerly CSTV) and the Mtn.

UNLV, a league-best 14-5 all-time in the MWC Tournament, leads the all-time series with TCU, 10-1, after sweeping both meetings this season. It was the third straight year that UNLV has swept the season series from TCU as the Runnin' Rebels have never lost to the Horned Frogs as a member of the MWC. This year will mark the first meeting between UNLV and TCU in tournament action.

TCU's No. 7 seed is the highest for the Horned Frogs since entering the league prior to the 2005-06 season. TCU won its first MWC Tournament game last season and is 1-2 overall in the event.

UNLV's No. 2 seed matches last year's No. 2 seed for the Runnin' Rebels, when they won the conference tournament championship to receive the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The only time UNLV has been seeded higher is when it won the 2000 MWC Tournament title as the No. 1 seed. UNLV is a perfect 7-0 in the quarterfinals of the MWC Tournament.

BYU enters the MWC Tournament as the No. 1 seed for the second straight season and second time in league history. The Cougars became the first team to win back-to-back outright MWC regular-season titles this year.

The Cougars will face the winner of Wednesday's first-round game between No. 8 seed Wyoming (12-17, 5-11) and No. 9 seed Colorado State (6-24, 0-16) on Thursday at 12 p.m. (The Mtn.). Wednesday's first-round game between the Cowboys and Rams is at 11:00 a.m. (no TV).



No. 4 seed San Diego State (19-11, 9-7) and No. 5 seed Air Force (16-13, 8-8) will face off at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday (The Mtn.), while No. 3 seed New Mexico (24-7, 11-5) and No. 6 seed Utah (16-13, 7-9) will meet at 8:30 p.m. (CBS College Sports and the Mtn.).

All-session and single-session tickets for the Phillips 66 Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Thomas & Mack Center ticket office, online at or by calling 702-739-FANS. The Thomas & Mack Center ticket office will be open Monday, March 10 at 10 a.m.

The MWC Championship has produced six different champions in its eight-year history. UNLV (2000, 2007) and San Diego State (2002, 2006) are the only teams to have won multiple titles.

The No. 1 seed has won the tournament just twice in seven years. UNLV won the inaugural championship as the top seed in 2000, while San Diego State became the second No. 1 seed to claim the crown in 2006.

The No. 2 seed (three times), No. 3 seed (once), No. 5 seed (once) and No. 6 seed (once) have captured tournament championships, while the No. 4 seed is 0-3 and the No. 7 seed is 0-1 in title games. The No. 8 and No. 9 seeds have yet to appear in the championship game.

The MWC regular-season champion has made it to the finals of the MWC Tournament five times in eight years, winning the championship three times. San Diego State is the only team to win both an outright regular-season title and the tournament crown in the same year.

UNLV has played in the championship game in each of the years that the MWC Tournament has been held at the Thomas & Mack Center (2000, 2002, 2003 and 2007 - UNLV was ineligible to compete in the 2001 tournament, which was held in Las Vegas).


Wednesday, March 12
11:00 a.m., First-round Game, No. 8 Wyoming vs. No. 9 Colorado State, No TV

Thursday, March 13
12:00 p.m., Quarterfinal Game #1, No. 1 BYU vs. 8/9 winner, the Mtn.
2:30 p.m., Quarterfinal Game #2, No. 4 San Diego State vs. No. 5 Air Force, the Mtn.
6:00 p.m., Quarterfinal Game #3, No. 2 UNLV vs. No. 7 TCU, CBS College Sports*/the Mtn.
8:30 p.m., Quarterfinal Game #4, No. 3 New Mexico vs. No. 6 Utah, CBS College Sports*/the Mtn.

Friday, March 14
6:30 p.m., Semifinal Game #1, Quarterfinal #1 and #2 Winners, CBS College Sports*
9:00 p.m., Semifinal Game #2, Quarterfinal #3 and #4 Winners, CBS College Sports*

Saturday, March 15
4:00 p.m., Championship Game, VERSUS

* - formerly CSTV

Online Store