Donate Tickets
Kruger A Finalist For Prosser Award

March 9, 2009

LAS VEGAS - UNLV head coach Lon Kruger is one of 12 finalists for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award, which is presented annually by, in conjunction with the Prosser family. The award is given to a Division I head coach who best represents the high standards of the coaching profession by winning with integrity.

The 12 finalists were selected from a group of 20 semi-finalists compiled by the selection panel. In addition to Kruger, the finalists include Jim Calhoun (Connecticut), Jeff Capel (Oklahoma), Ed Conroy (The Citadel), Ed DeChellis (Penn State), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Dino Gaudio (Wake Forest), Tom Izzo (Michigan State), Trent Johnson (LSU), Billy Lange (Navy), Stew Morrill (Utah State) and Bruce Weber (Illinois).

"It's a great group of finalists," said Mark Prosser, son of the late Skip Prosser and chairman of the award selection committee. "It was difficult to narrow the list down to the finalists. There were so many outstanding coaches."

Last year's inaugural award was given to Notre Dame's Mike Brey. Brey will be on hand to present the award to the 2009 winner. Named in memory of former Wake Forest head coach Skip Prosser who passed away suddenly on July 26, 2007, the award will be presented at the Final Four in Detroit.



UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron