Jasper A Cousy Award Candidate
Derrick Jasper has been nominated as a candidate for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award.
Derrick Jasper has been nominated as a candidate for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award.

Dec. 19, 2009

LAS VEGAS - UNLV men’s basketball junior Derrick Jasper has been nominated as a candidate for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award, which is presented by The Hartford Financial Services and given annually to college basketball’s top point guard. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass., announced the 72 candidates for the award this week, 50 of which are from Division I.

The award is named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy.

Jasper, a 6-foot-6, 215-pound guard, leads the No. 23 Runnin’ Rebels in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.5 (33 assists, 13 turnovers), is second in steals with 1.6 spg, second in rebounding with 4.7 rpg, and fourth in scoring with 7.0 ppg. He averages 3.3 apg, which ranks third on the team, and is shooting 47.3 percent from the field.

The original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by January 1, final 10 by February 1, and final five by March 1. A Hall of Fame appointed screening committee will be narrowing down the candidates prior to the Blue Ribbon Selection Committee evaluating the final five candidates and ultimately choosing the winner. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

Now in its seventh year, the winner of the Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday, April 5, in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

The candidates:

Division I
Armon Johnson, Nevada, Reno
Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh
Ben Uzoh, Tulsa
Biko Parris, Boston College
Bobby Maze, Tennessee
Brett Harvey, Loyola-Maryland
Brock Young, East Carolina
Bryan Dougher, Stony Brook
Chris Warren, Ole Miss
Clifford CJ Reed, Bethune Cookman
Denis Clemente, Kansas State
Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati
Derrick Jasper, UNLV
Devan Downey, South Carolina
DeWayne Reed, Auburn
Diante Garrett, Iowa State
DiJuan Harris, Charlotte
Jeremy Goode,  Mt. St. Mary's
Jerome Randle, California
John Wall, Kentucky
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Josh White,North Texas
JT Tiller, Missouri
Julyan Stone, UTEP
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Kemba Walker, Connecticut
Kevin Sims, Tulane
London Warren, Dayton
Louis Dale, Cornell
Mac Hopson, Idaho
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech
Manny Harris, Michigan
Marquis Hall, Lehigh
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Michael Vogler, Troy
Nic Wise, Arizona
Nick Vier, Vermont
OJ Avworo, Naval Academy
Ray Penn, Oklahoma State
Robbie Harmann, Central Michigan
Robert Smith, Santa Clara
Ronald Moore, Siena
Scott Machado, Iona
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Sharaud Curry, Providence
Sherron Collins, Kansas
Talor Battle, Penn State
Tony White Jr., College of Charleston
Tory Jackson, Notre Dame
Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin

Division II
Braydon Hobbs, Bellarmine University
Casey Cosgrove, Adelphi
Chris Goutama, Colorado School of Mines
Darren Duncan, Merrimack College
Ed Wilson, Mercy College
Jason Westrol, Bentley University
Khaleef Allicott, Queens College (NY)
Kyle Caiola, Massachusetts-Lowell
Kyle Couvion Christian, Brothers University
Kyle Moore, Tusculum College
Patrick Kuhlman, Belmont Abbey College
Russell Frederick, Philadelphia University
Taylor Witt, St. Cloud State University
Virgil Buensuceso, BYU - Hawaii

Division III

Aaron Williams, Kalamazoo College
Corey McAdam, Nazareth College
Jack Barrett, Wentworth College
John Hoch, Carroll University
Josh Sharlow, St. Lawrence University
Robert Moreno, McMurry University
Sean Wallis, Washington University
Tyler Ledford, Wilmington College
Zach Ashworth, University of Scranton



Online Store