Donate Tickets
Football Postseason Awards Announced

Jan. 3, 2012

LAS VEGAS - Sack leader James Dunlap (defense), veteran tight end Austin Harrington (offense), record-setting returner Deante' Purvis (co-special teams) and return-coverage standout Mike Horsey (co-special teams) were named UNLV football's most valuable players as Head Coach Bobby Hauck announced his program's season-ending awards.

Dunlap (Pasadena, CA) started every game at end and ranked second in the Mountain West and 37th in the nation with 14.5 tackles for loss, including 6.5 quarterback sacks. The former junior-college transfer also tied for sixth in the league with three forced fumbles to go with his 47 total tackles. Dunlap also received the Bill "Wildcat" Morris Most Inspirational Award.

Harrington (Grapevine, TX) played in every game and hauled in 15 catches for 164 yards, including a memorable 23-yard touchdown grab on a fake field goal play vs. Southern Utah.

Purvis (Pinole, CA) became the first UNLV kick returner since 2003 to earn All-MW honors when he was named second team. He finished as the all-time leader in school and conference history with 112 returns for 2,626 yards. He took back 41 attempts this year for exactly 1,000 yards, including a 98-yard touchdown that helped swing the momentum in his team's favor in a victory over Colorado State. Purvis shared the special teams honor with Horsey (Baltimore, MD), a redshirt freshman reserve defensive back who made his mark with 13 total tackles on kick coverage. Horsey also picked up the Jack Gilmore Coaches Award, which is annually given to a current or former walk-on player who excelled on the field.

Five other team awards were announced:

Another senior, defensive back and team captain Quinton Pointer (Fort Myers, FL), won the Rene Arceneaux Award, which is given to a player who has demonstrated exemplary improvement in academic progress.



The squad's other captain, linebacker Nate Carter (Las Vegas), who also wore the Battle Born Jersey No. 36, was voted winner of the "Doc" Tobler Senior Award, which goes to a final-year player who brings the highest credit to himself and the university.

Two players - defensive lineman Matt Kravetz (Las Vegas) and safety Mike Clausen (Riverside, CA) -- earned the Robert Cline Award, which annually goes to a senior or seniors who demonstrated a strong commitment to the team, university and community while also showing good sportsmanship on the field.

Also, two freshmen were honored for their work on the scout team as running back Prince Oroke (Las Vegas) won on offense and defensive back Peni Vea (Kailu-Kona, HI) was tabbed on defense.

Most Valuable Player - Defense          James Dunlap, DE, Senior
Most Valuable Player - Offense          Austin Harrington, TE, Senior
Most Valuable Players - Special Teams   Deante' Purvis, KR, Senior & Mike Horsey, DB, Freshman
Rene Arceneaux Award                    Quinton Pointer, DB, Senior
Robert Cline Award                      Matt Kravetz, DL, Senior & Mike Clausen, DB, Senior
Jack Gilmore Coaches Award              Mike Horsey, DB, Freshman
"Wildcat" Morris Most Inspirational     James Dunlap, DL, Senior
"Doc" Tobler Senior Award               Nate Carter, LB, Senior
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year Prince Oroke, RB, Freshman
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year Peni Vea, DB, Freshman
UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts