Donate Tickets
Rebels Repeat With 18 Academic Honorees

Tim Hasson joined Tyler Gaston in becoming four-time Academic All-MW honorees.

Jan. 30, 2014

LAS VEGAS ( - A total of 18 UNLV football players -- tied with last year's squad for the second most in program history -- earned spots on the Academic All-Mountain West team, the league announced Thursday.

The Rebels, who hit double figures on this list for the eighth consecutive season, ranked fifth among the 12 football teams in the conference this year.

The group of Rebels included two players that earned the honor for the fourth straight year: senior defensive lineman Tyler Gaston (North Las Vegas) and senior linebacker Tim Hasson (Las Vegas).

Making their third appearance on the annual list were junior tight end Taylor Barnhill (Rhome, Texas), junior offensive lineman Brett Boyko (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) and junior offensive lineman Robert Waterman (Castaic, Calif.).

Repeat honorees were sophomore tight end Tyler Bergsten (Phoenix, Ariz.,), senior linebacker Max Elhert (Helsinki, Finland), senior receiver Maika Mataele (Kaneohe, Hawaii), sophomore offensive lineman Andrew Oberg (Islip, N.Y.), junior offensive lineman Brian Roth (Lake Forest, Calif.), junior defensive lineman Jordan Sparkman (San Diego, Calif.) and sophomore receiver Anthony Williams (Brentwood, Calif.).



The six first-time honorees were junior receiver Aaron Criswell (San Francisco, Calif.), freshman linebacker Marc Philippi (Las Vegas), freshman tight end Andrew Price (Blaine, Wash.), senior receiver Jerry Rice Jr. (Atherton, Calif.), junior defensive lineman Siuea Vaesau (Pinole, Calif.) and junior defensive back Matt Viñal (Santa Cruz, Calif.).

To be eligible for selection student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the school while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their team.

Taylor Barnhill, Junior, Hospitality Management
Tyler Bergsten, Sophomore, Accounting
Brett Boyko, Junior, Psychology
Aaron Criswell, Junior, Psychology
Max Ehlert, Senior, Hospitality Management
Tyler Gaston, Senior, Criminal Justice
Tim Hasson, Senior, Interdisciplinary Studies
Maika Mataele, Senior, Sociology
Andrew Oberg, Sophomore, Political Science
Marc Philippi, Freshman, Business Administration
Andrew Price, Freshman, Kinesiological Sciences
Jerry Rice Jr., Senior, Master of Public Administration
Brian Roth, Junior, Criminal Justice
Jordan Sparkman, Junior, Human Services Counseling
Siuea Vaesau, Junior, Kinesiological Sciences
Matt Viñal, Junior, Communication Studies
Robert Waterman, Junior Criminal, Justice
Anthony Williams, Sophomore, Criminal Justice
UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts