Donate Tickets
18 Rebels Honored For Academics

Tim Hasson is one of two Rebels that earned the MW academic nod for a third time.

Jan. 31, 2013

LAS VEGAS ( - A total of 18 UNLV football players -- the second most in program history -- earned spots on the 2013 Academic All-Mountain West team, the league announced Thursday.

The Rebels, who hit double figures on this list for the seventh consecutive season, ranked second in the conference this year for most football players behind only Boise State.

The group of Rebels included two players that earned the honor for the third straight year: junior defensive lineman Tyler Gaston (North Las Vegas) and junior linebacker Tim Hasson (Las Vegas).

Making their second appearance on the annual list were senior defensive lineman Trent Allmang-Wilder (Palm Springs, Calif.), sophomore tight end Taylor Barnhill (Rhome, Texas), sophomore offensive lineman Brett Boyko (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), graduate student defensive back Kenny Brown (Palmdale, Calif.), sophomore linebacker Perry Cooper (The Woodlands, Texas), senior tight end Aaron Reed (Las Vegas) and sophomore offensive lineman Robert Waterman (Castaic, Calif.).

First-time honorees were: freshman tight end Tyler Bergsten (Phoenix, Ariz.,), junior linebacker Max Elhert (Helsinki, Finland), junior tight end Max Johnson (Wildomar, Calif.), junior receiver Maika Mataele (Kaneohe, Hawaii), freshman Andrew Oberg (Islip, N.Y.), sophomore offensive lineman Brian Roth (Lake Forest, Calif.), freshman quarterback Nick Sherry (Petaluma, Calif.), sophomore defensive lineman Jordan Sparkman (San Diego, Calif.) and freshman receiver Anthony Williams (Brentwood, Calif.).



To be eligible for selection student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the school while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their team.

Player, Pos.               Year       Major
Trent Allmang-Wilder*, DL	Senior     Sociology
Taylor Barnhill*, TE	Soph.      Hospitality Management
Tyler Bergsten, TE	         Freshman   Hospitality Management
Brett Boyko*, OL	         Soph.      Psychology
Kenneth Brown*, DB         Senior     Master's in Public Administration
Perry Cooper*, LB          Soph.      Hospitality Management
Max Ehlert, LB             Junior     Hospitality Management
Tyler Gaston*, DL          Junior     Criminal Justice
Tim Hasson*, LB            Junior     Interdisciplinary Studies
Max Johnson, TE            Junior     Human Services
Maika Mataele, WR          Junior     Criminal Justice
Andrew Oberg, OL           Freshman   Political Science
Aaron Reed*, TE            Senior     Real Estate
Brian Roth, OL             Soph.      Criminal Justice
Nick Sherry, QB            Freshman   Political Science
Jordan Sparkman, DL        Soph.      Human Services
Robert Waterman*, OL       Soph.      Criminal Justice
Anthony Williams, WR       Freshman   Kinesiological Sciences

*Multiple-season honoree

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts