Donate Tickets
Dozen Rebels Honored

Feb. 11, 2011

LAS VEGAS ( - A total of 12 UNLV football players earned spots on the 2010 Academic All-Mountain West Conference team, the league announced this week.

This season's group of Rebels includes five players who also earned the honor in previous years. The contingent was led by four-time honoree Matt Murphy (Lake Forest, CA), who was also a rare four-year starter on the field at offensive tackle.

Two other veterans picked up their third such honor: WR Tate Knutson (Anchorage, AK) and LB Beau Orth (Las Vegas). Other Rebels who were also on a previous year's list were LB David Blair (Tempe, AZ) and LB Travis Trickey (Springerville, AZ).

Making their first appearance on the annual list this season were DL Ian Bobak (Las Vegas), DL Tyler Gaston (North Las Vegas), LB Tim Hasson (Las Vegas), P Brendon Lamers (Palos Verdes, CA), DL Kjelby Oiland (Spokane, WA), WR Aaron Reed (Las Vegas) and TE Anthony Vidal (Huntington Beach, CA).

To be eligible for selection student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the school while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their team. Exceptions are made for players unable to compete because of injury.

Player, Pos.          GPA    Major
David Blair*, LB      3.31   Fine Arts-Film
Ian Bobak, DL         3.25   Gaming Management
Tyler Gaston, DL      3.50   Undecided
Tim Hasson, LB        3.00   Business Administration
Tate Knutson*, WR     3.59   Kinesiology
Brendon Lamers, P     3.06   Graphic Design
Matt Murphy*, OL      3.21   Mathematics-Secondary Education
Kjelby Oiland, DL     3.10   Undecided
Beau Orth*, LB        3.35   Marketing
Aaron Reed, WR        3.08   Undecided
Travis Trickey*, LB   3.21   Communications
Anthony Vidal, TE     3.78   Kinesiology

*Multiple-season honoree



UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron