Donate Tickets
UNLV Football Lineman Up For Spot On Good Works Team

July 13, 2016

LAS VEGAS ( - UNLV offensive tackle Kyle Saxelid (pronounced “SAX-ah-lid”) is one of 81 FBS nominees vying for a spot on the 2016 Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team®.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the award, which was established in 1992 to recognize a select group of college football players who have made a commitment to service and enriching the lives of others.

The Rebels have had four players earn a spot on the exclusive team over the years: WR Casey Flair (2007), DE Leon Moore (2005), DB Jamaal Brimmer (2004) and OL Tony Terrell (2002).

Saxelid, who will be a junior this fall, is a 2013 graduate of Cosumnes Oaks High School in Elk Grove, California. A returning starter at left tackle, he was named preseason 2016 Fourth Team All-MW by Athlon. An Academic All-Mountain West Conference honoree in both 2014 and ’15, Saxelid serves as the football team’s representative on the UNLV Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and has an extensive resume of community service.

“The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team has been one of the most prestigious off-the-field awards in college football for the past 25 years,” said AFCA Executive Director Todd Berry, who twice coached at UNLV. “It is with great pride that we partner with Allstate to highlight some of the best student-athletes in the country who not only excel on the field, but off of it as well.”



In honor of the 25th anniversary, Allstate and the AFCA are adding three additional spots to this year’s team when they announce a final roster of 25 members in September. For the first time in the award’s history, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be comprised of 12 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, 12 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA and an honorary head coach.

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.® In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

The following players have been nominated for consideration to be named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

Football Bowl Subdivision 
Appalachian State University – Darian Small 
Arizona State University – Viliami “Laiu” Moeakiola
Auburn University – Daniel Carlson
Ball State University – Teddy Williamson
Baylor University – Lynx Hawthorne
Boise State University – Jake Roh
Brigham Young University – Mitchell Juergens
California State University, Fresno – Jacob Vazquez
Central Michigan University –  Cooper Rush
Clemson University – Deshaun Watson
Colorado State University – Elroy Masters Jr.
Duke University – DeVon Edwards
Florida State University – Alec Eberle
Georgia Institute of Technology – KeShun Freeman
Georgia State University – Keith Rucker
Indiana University – Mitchell Paige
Iowa State University – Cole Netten
Kansas State University – Dante Barnett
Kent State University – Nick Cuthbert
Marshall University – Ryan Yurachek
Michigan State University – Josiah Price
Middle Tennessee State University – Brent Stockstill
Mississippi State University – Brandon Holloway
North Carolina State University – Tony Adams
Northern Illinois University – Sean Folliard
Northwestern University – Matthew Harris
Ohio State University – Pat Elflein
Old Dominion University – Tyler Compton
Oregon State University – Will Hopkins
Purdue University – Cameron Posey
Rice University – Darik Dillard
Rutgers University – Derrick Nelson
San Jose State University – Tim Crawley
Syracuse University – Jason Emerich
Temple University – Jacob Martin
Texas A&M University – Trevor Knight
Texas Christian University – Caylin Moore
Texas State University –  Felix Romero
Texas Tech University – Patrick Mahomes II
Troy University – John Johnson
University of Akron – DeAndre Scott
University of Alabama – O.J. Howard
University of Arkansas – Deatrich Wise Jr.
University of California – Jack Austin
University of Colorado Boulder – Derek McCartney
University of Connecticut – Bobby Puyol
University of Florida – Jarrad Davis
University of Georgia – Jeb Blazevich
University of Hawaii at Manoa – Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea
University of Houston – Greg Ward Jr.
University of Illinois – Joe Spencer
University of Kansas – Fish Smithson
University of Louisiana at Lafayette – Elijah McGuire
University of Louisville – Brandon Radcliff
University of Maryland – William Likely
University of Memphis – Jake Elliott
University of Miami – Brad Kaaya
University of Michigan – Jehu Chesson
University of Minnesota – Damarius Travis
University of Mississippi – Evan Engram
University of Missouri – Donavin Newsom
University of Nebraska – Drew Brown
University of Nevada, Reno – Jeremy Macauley 
University of Nevada, Las Vegas – Kyle Saxelid
University of New Mexico – Garrett Adcock
University of North Carolina – Nick Weiler
University of North Carolina at Charlotte – Jamal Covington
University of Oklahoma – Samaje Perine
University of Pittsburgh – Mike Caprara
University of Southern California – John Plattenburg
University of Southern Mississippi – Nick Mullens
University of Toledo – Brad Spelman
University of Tulsa – Dane Evans
University of Virginia – Matt Johns
University of Wisconsin – Vince Biegel
Utah State University – Travis Seefeldt
Vanderbilt University – Oren Burks
Wake Forest University – Ryan Janvion
West Virginia University – Skyler Howard
Western Kentucky University – Marcus Ward 
Western Michigan University – Zach Terrell

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts