Donate Tickets
Trio Of Rebels Named To Preseason All-MW Team

Devante Davis had more TD catches in 2013 than any returning player in college football.

July 22, 2014

LAS VEGAS ( - Three UNLV players were named to the Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team for the first time since 2006 as the league released its official list Tuesday to kick off this year's annual Media Days at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas.

Three standout seniors - all on offense -- were named after a vote by the league's media. All-America candidate at wide receiver Devante Davis, who is the nation's top returning touchdown catcher after shattering the school record with 14 last season, is on the team along with four-year starting left tackle Brett Boyko and four-year starting center Robert Waterman. Davis is on multiple preseason watch lists, including the Maxwell Award, which is given to college football's top player, while Waterman was cited for the third straight year by the Rimington Award, which goes to the country's best center.

UNLV was the only team this year with more than two players named on the offensive side of the ball. Both Davis and Boyko were second team all-league picks after the 2013 season while Waterman earned his third honorable mention after the trio helped the Rebels make their first bowl game appearance in 13 years. The last time UNLV had three preseason honorees on the official MW team, the trio was made up of linebacker Beau Bell, cornerback Eric Wright and placekicker Sergio Aguayo.

The league on Tuesday also announced the media's predicted order of finish and the Rebels were slotted fourth in the West Division. Boise State was predicted to win the 2014 Mountain Division title, while 2013 MW Champion Fresno State was chosen to finish atop the West Division.



This marks the second season of divisional play for the conference, which moved to the two, six-team divisional format in 2013 following the additions of San José State and Utah State. The two divisional winners will meet in the MW Championship Game on Dec. 6 at the home stadium of the divisional champion with the highest College Football Playoff Committee ranking.

UNLV will hold its first practice August 6 and open its season on Friday, Aug. 29 at Arizona. The home opener is Saturday, Sept. 6 vs. Northern Colorado. Season tickets are on sale now starting at only $90 for all six home games. Three-game mini-plans are also on sale starting as low as $42. Call (702) 739-FANS or log on to for more information.

QB	Chuckie Keeton		Sr.	Utah State
WR	Matt Miller		Sr.	Boise State
WR	Devante Davis		Sr.	UNLV
RB	Jay Ajayi		Jr.	Boise State
RB	Donnel Pumphrey	        So.	San Diego State
OL	Ty Sambrailo		Sr.	Colorado State
OL	Cody Wichmann	        Sr.	Fresno State
OL	LaMar Bratton		Sr.	New Mexico
OL	Brett Boyko		Sr.	UNLV
OL	Robert Waterman	        Sr.	UNLV
TE	Kivon Cartwright	Sr.	Colorado State

Defense DL Tyeler Davison Sr. Fresno State DL Brock Hekking Sr. Nevada, Reno DL B.J. Larsen Sr. Utah State DL Eddie Yarbrough Jr. Wyoming LB Ejiro Ederaine Jr. Fresno State LB Kyler Fackrell Jr. Utah State LB Zach Vigil Sr. Utah State DB Donte Deayon Jr. Boise State DB Jeremy Ioane Sr. Boise State DB Derron Smith Sr. Fresno State DB J.J. Whittaker Sr. San Diego State

Specialists P Garrett Swanson Jr. Fresno State PK Jared Roberts Sr. Colorado State Ret. Carlos Wiggins Jr. New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year Chuckie Keeton, Sr., QB, Utah State

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts