Donate Tickets
Offensive Lineman Polu Named To Poly Award Watch List

Aug. 10, 2017


Purchase Season Tickets & Mini-Plans | 2017 UNLV Football Schedule | @UNLVAthletics

UNLV sophomore offensive lineman Justin Polu is one of 48 players from around the nation named Thursday to the 2017 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.

The honor is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.

Named 2017 Third Team Preseason All-Mountain West by Athlon, Polu (6-foot-4, 325) was born in Honolulu but is a product of Las Vegas’ Silverado High School. Starting all 12 games at right guard, he did not allow a quarterback sack as a freshman and helped lead the UNLV rushing attack to 241.5 yards per game, which ranked 15th in the nation and was the program’s highest average since 1979.

Former University of Oregon and current Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2014; former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens offensive lineman, Las Vegas’ own Ronnie Stanley, received the award in 2015; and former University of Colorado and current Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Sefo Liufau received the award last year.

The winner of the 2017 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced Dec. 14, 2017. Five finalists will be unveiled on November 30. The presentation of the award will be held at the Celebration Dinner during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend Jan. 21, 2018, in Honolulu.

“The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award has quickly become one of the most prestigious awards in college football,” said Jesse Sapolu, chairman and co-founder. “More than 500 players of Polynesian ancestry are playing Division I football today.”



The Watch List candidates were selected based on past performance and future potential. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes coaches Dick Tomey (chairman), Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFLPA President and inaugural inductee Kevin Mawae, former NFL player and class of 2015 inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL player personnel legend Gil Brandt, NFL Network writer and commentator Steve Wyche and Honolulu sportscaster Robert Kekaula.

UNLV kicks off the 2017 season by hosting Howard University on September 2 at 6 p.m. at Sam Boyd Stadium.

Single-game and season tickets for the 2017 UNLV football season are on sale now by visiting or calling (702) 739-FANS. In addition, special ticket pricing is available for groups of least 20 by contacting Dan Johnson at or calling (702) 895-1885.

Season tickets to all six home dates for UNLV’s 50th year on the gridiron remain on sale and start as low as $99 (plus fees). Log on to or call (702) 739-FANS to purchase or for more information.

Mini-plans are also available now with special pricing for two- and three-game packages. The Scarlet Plan allows you to purchase any three home games starting as low as $51 (plus fees) while the Gray Plan features any two home games starting as low as $34 (plus fees).

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts