Donate Tickets
Hall Of Fame Wall To Be Dedicated

Nov. 16, 2010

LAS VEGAS ( - The new Clark County High School Football Coaches Hall of Fame Wall that is housed at Sam Boyd Stadium will be officially dedicated right before Thursday's UNLV vs. Air Force football game.

The 22-foot wide, by 12-foot high wall wrap, which was installed before the season, documents the coaches, administrators and other officials who have been inducted since the hall was created in 1996. It is located in the southwest area of the Sam Boyd Stadium concourse, near Portal 17. Thursday's dedication is scheduled to take place at approximately 6:10 p.m. (stadium doors open at 6 p.m.).

Also, joining the wall on Thursday will be the Class of 2010, which is made up four coaches, an administrator, three historical figures and one official and media inductee. That class will be officially inducted during ceremonies held in Las Vegas Wednesday evening, but will also be on hand for Thursday's dedication before the Rebels take on the Falcons in UNLV's home finale. Kickoff is 7 p.m. Also, all surviving members of the CCHSFC Hall of Fame in attendance will be recognized on the field at halftime.

The Class of 2010 is made up of coaches Dave Castro, Greg Murphy, Marty Taggart and Evan Wilson; administrator Frank Brusa; media inductee Doug Kezirian; official Vince Consul; and historical figures Lou Antone, Darren Libonati and Dr. LeRoy Wolever.


COACHES Dave Castro -- Coached in the Clark County School District for 29 years. He was the head coach at Eldorado High School for two years and an assistant coach at Palo Verde, Clark, Valley, Green Valley, Bonanza, and Durango. Castro was a standout player at Southern Utah University. He died in 2009.

Greg Murphy -- Was a head coach for 14 years at Valley, Green Valley and Centennial. He was the first head coach at Centennial. Murphy was the vice president of the CCHSFCA for six years and was the 2004 Las Vegas Review-Journal Football Coach of the Year.

Marty Taggart -- Coached at Moapa Valley High School for 27 years, including 13 years as a head coach. His teams won three state championships as a head coach and he was his classification's Coach of the Year in 1978, 1979 and 1984. Taggart is a member of the NIAA Hall of Fame.

Evan Wilson -- Coached 30 years at Virgin Valley High School, including 20 years as a head coach. He was his classification's Coach of the Year eight times. Wilson is a member of the NIAA Hall of Fame and the Southern Utah Coaches Hall of Fame.

ADMINISTRATOR Frank Brusa -- Was a strong supporter of athletics in the Clark County School District for more than 30 years. He served as a teacher, coach and administrator. He was principal at Basic and Las Vegas high schools.

HISTORICAL FIGURES Lou Antone -- Was an outstanding football official starting in the 1950s. His peers call him an "official's official" who was very knowledgeable about the rules and had great respect from the coaches who knew they were going to get a fair, well- called game from Antone. He is deceased.

Daren Libonati -- Was the executive director of UNLV's Sam Boyd Stadium and Thomas & Mack Center until recently leaving to become president of an entertainment company. Previously worked at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. Libonati is a former place-kicker at UNLV. He was instrumental in approving the coaches' association Hall of Fame Wall at Sam Boyd Stadium. Thanks to Daren, Southern Nevada schools were able to maintain a 10th football game despite budget cuts. Daren worked with the UFL, LV Locomotives and the Clark County School District to fund the 10th football game for the local high schools.

Dr. LeRoy Wolever -- Was the Clark football team doctor for many years and was dedicated to high school athletes. Coaches Hall of Fame president Horrace Smith said, "If Clark was playing, Dr. Wolever was the on-call doctor for all games. But if a player on the other team was hurt and that team didn't have its own doctor, Dr. Wolever was right out there to help."

OFFICIAL Vince Consul -- The active members in the Clark County football coaches organization also selected former official Vince Consul, who recently died. Consul began officiating in 1993, was a playoff official starting in 1998 and was a crew chief from 2005-2010. He was on the Southern Nevada Officials Association football board in 2008 and was a Mountain West Conference replay official.

MEDIA INDUCTEE Doug Kezirian -- The Sports Director at KTNV, overseeing the department and achoring the sportscasts during the 6 pm and 11 pm weekly editions of Action News. He was born and raised in Los Angeles and began his broadcasting career in Columbia, Missouri. He covered professional sports in both St Louis and Kansas City. He continues to follow and cover all sports, including ones that fail to get the proper recognition. Whether it is reporting on local athletics, manning the sidelines of Rebel games, or tracking UFC and boxing fights ringside, Doug cherishes the opportunity to affect the lives of so many Las Vegans.



UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts