Historic Honor Caps Wolfe's Career
Ryan Wolfe was the lone UNLV representative on the MWC first and second teams.
Ryan Wolfe was the lone UNLV representative on the MWC first and second teams.

Dec. 1, 2009

LAS VEGAS - Senior wide receiver Ryan Wolfe became just the third UNLV football player and sixth Mountain West Conference gridder in history to earn three first team all-league honors as the MWC announced its official postseason awards Tuesday.

Wolfe, out of Santa Clarita, Calif., was already the first UNLV receiver in history to be named first team all-conference twice in a career as he was also a first team selection in 2006 and 2008 (Wolfe received honorable mention in 2007). Now he joins two-time All-American safety Jamaal Brimmer (2002-04 in the MWC) and two-time All-American punter and quarterback Randall Cunningham (1982-84 in the PCAA) as the only Rebel football players to thrice be named first team all-league. He is also one of just six players in Mountain West history to accomplish the feat.

Despite missing his final collegiate game because of a foot injury, Wolfe finished 12th in college football history with 283 receptions, which was also the most in UNLV and Mountain West history. This season, the Hart High School product led the MWC with 6.73 catches per game (17th nationally), had 74 grabs for 760 yards and also earned statistics as a rusher (41 net yards) and on defense (six tackles and one pass breakup). Wolfe's two 100-yard receiving games as a senior pushed his school-record career total to 12.

A trio of Rebels earned honorable mention this year: senior linebacker/defensive end Jason Beauchamp (6.5 sacks and 95 total tackles), who was second team All-MWC last season; four-year starter on the offensive line, senior guard Joe Hawley (zero sacks allowed); and junior left tackle Matt Murphy (one sack allowed).

Dominated by undefeated and fourth-ranked TCU, the 2009 MWC awards were voted on by the nine head coaches and a panel of 18 members of the media. TCU quarterback Andy Dalton was the choice for the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year while Horned Frog defensive end Jerry Hughes was named MWC Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. TCU kick returner Jeremy Kerley won for special teams while coach of the year went to the Frogs' Gary Patterson. Wyoming QB Austyn Carta-Samuels was tabbed MWC Freshman of the Year.




Offensive Player of the Year Andy Dalton, Junior, QB, TCU

Defensive Player of the Year Jerry Hughes, Senior, DE, TCU

Special Teams Player of the Year Jeremy Kerley, Junior, KR, TCU

Freshman of the Year Austyn Carta-Samuels, QB, Wyoming

Coach of the Year Gary Patterson, TCU


OFFENSE POS PLAYER CL SCHOOL QB Andy Dalton Jr. TCU WR David Reed Sr. Utah WR Ryan Wolfe** Sr. UNLV RB Harvey Unga Jr. BYU RB Eddie Wide Jr. Utah TE Dennis Pitta**# Sr. BYU OL Matt Reynolds So. BYU OL Erik Cook Sr. New Mexico OL Marshall Newhouse Sr. TCU OL Marcus Cannon Jr. TCU OL Zane Beadles* Sr. Utah PK Ross Evans So. TCU PR/KR Jeremy Kerley*# Jr. TCU

DEFENSE POS PLAYER CL SCHOOL DL Jan Jorgensen** Sr. BYU DL Jerry Hughes*# Sr. TCU DL Koa Misi Sr. Utah DL John Fletcher Sr. Wyoming LB Carmen Messina So. New Mexico LB Daryl Washington Sr. TCU LB Stevenson Sylvester Sr. Utah DB Reggie Rembert Jr. Air Force DB Rafael Priest Sr. TCU DB Nick Sanders Sr. TCU DB Robert Johnson Sr. Utah P Adam Miller Sr. New Mexico

*Two-Time First Team Selection **Three-Time First Team Selection #Unanimous Selection


OFFENSE POS PLAYER CL SCHOOL QB Max Hall Sr. BYU WR Vincent Brown Jr. San Diego State WR DeMarco Sampson Sr. San Diego State RB Joseph Turner Sr. TCU RB Jared Tew Jr. Air Force TE Andrew George Sr. BYU OL Nick Charles Sr. Air Force OL Peter Lusk Sr. Air Force OL Caleb Schlauderaff Jr. Utah OL Jake Kirkpatrick Jr. TCU OL Zane Taylor Jr. Utah PK Erik Soderberg So. Air Force PR/KR Dion Morton Sr. Colorado State

DEFENSE POS PLAYER CL SCHOOL DL Wayne Daniels Jr. TCU DL Ben Garland Sr. Air Force DL Johnathan Rainey So. New Mexico DL Cory Grant Jr. TCU LB Tank Carder So. TCU LB Mychal Sisson So. Colorado State LB Brian Hendricks So. Wyoming DB Andrew Rich Jr. BYU DB Anthony Wright So. Air Force DB Tejay Johnson Jr. TCU DB Chris Prosinski Jr. Wyoming P Brian Stahovich So. San Diego State

2009 HONORABLE MENTION Air Force: John Falgout, Sr., LB; Brandon Geyer, Sr., P; Ryan Gonzales, Sr., OL; Chris Thomas, Sr., DB. BYU: Coleby Clawson, Sr., LB; Brett Denney, Sr., DL; Scott Johnson, Sr., DB; Brian Logan, Jr., DB; Riley Stephenson, Fr., P; R.J. Willing, Sr., OL. Colorado State: Adrian Martinez, Sr., OL; Nick Oppenneer, Sr., DB; Cole Pemberton, Sr., OL; Shelley Smith, Sr., OL; Tim Walter, Sr., OL. New Mexico: Kendall Briscoe, Sr., DL. San Diego State: Davion Mauldin, Sr., KR; Jerry Milling, Sr., LB. TCU: Evan Frosch, Jr., TE; Antoine Hicks, So., WR; Jeremy Kerley, Jr., WR; Ed Wesley, Fr., RB; Jimmy Young, Jr., WR. UNLV: Jason Beauchamp, Sr., LB; Joe Hawley, Sr., OL; Matt Murphy, Jr., OL. Utah: Joe Phillips, Jr., K; Sean Sellwood, Fr., P; Sealver Siliga, So., DL; Mike Wright, Sr., LB. Wyoming: David Leonard, Jr., WR; Austin McCoy, So., P; Mitch Unrein, Sr., DL

Online Store