Donate Tickets
Trio Of Rebels Named Second Team All-MW

Center Robert Waterman is now a three-time Honorable Mention All-MW player.

Dec. 10, 2013

LAS VEGAS ( - UNLV had more than two players earn spots on the All-Mountain West first and second teams for the first time since 2006 as senior running back Tim Cornett, junior wide receiver Devante Davis and junior offensive lineman Brett Boyko all made the second team as part of the conference's official postseason awards announced Tuesday.

In addition, seven Rebels earned honorable mention -- after getting just two on the list a year ago. In fact, the 10 total UNLV players marked the most for the program since seeing 11 cited in 2003 when the conference was just nine teams deep. Also, a total of three UNLV offensive linemen, members of a unit that helped the Rebels rush for 181 yards a game, were part of an official league list for the first time since a trio of blockers was honored by the Big West Conference in 1994 (one first team and two honorable mention).

Cornett (Galena Park, Texas/North Shore High School) is UNLV's all-time leading rusher and ranks second in Mountain West history. He has 1,251 net yards rushing and a career-high 142 yards on 28 receptions as a senior. His current per-game average of 104.2 yards ranks 25th in the nation and his 15 rushing touchdowns is tied for 12th. He tied the school record for rushing scores in a game when he took four in during a win at Air Force. Earning honorable mention a year ago, Cornett is the first Rebel runner to earn first or second team All-MW since Dominique Dorsey was a first teamer in 2004.

His former high school teammate, Davis, (Galena Park, Texas/North Shore HS) has shattered the UNLV record for touchdown receptions in a season with 14, which is tied for fourth in the nation. He is just the second Rebel since 1994 to reach the 1,000-yard mark and his 1,194 yards through 12 games is the third-most in program history while his 77 catches stand fourth in a season at UNLV. Davis tied a school record with four scoring grabs in the regular-season finale vs. San Diego State and his 99.7 yards per game currently stands 17th in the country.



Boyko (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan/St. Joseph HS) started all 12 games at left tackle for the Rebels and has allowed just one quarterback sack. He also earned honorable mention after his Freshman All-America season in 2011 and is the first Rebel blocker to make a first or second team since Joe Critchfield was named to the league's second team in 2004.

Earning honorable mention for the third straight season, center Robert Waterman (Castaic, Calif./West Ranch HS) was a member of the Rimington Award Watch List for the second straight fall and graded out second highest among UNLV linemen for the season at 92 percent.

The other six players were all first-time honorable mentions: senior safety Frank Crawford (Miami, Fla./Gulliver Prep) leads the team with four interceptions after transferring from Ole Miss; senior defensive tackle Mark Garrick (Gadsden, S.C./Sacramento City College) plugged up the middle while ranking ninth in tackles with 31; junior left guard Cameron Jefferson (Las Vegas/Desert Oasis HS) is a team captain and ranks second on the squad in pancake blocks; senior linebacker Tani Maka (Long Beach, Calif./Jordan HS) is a team captain and has a team-leading 6.5 tackles for loss; junior kick returner Marcus Sullivan (North Las Vegas/Cheyenne HS) has a return average (28.8) that ranks eighth in the nation; and sophomore safety Peni Vea (Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i/Kealakehe HS) leads the team with 97 tackles and has two interceptions.

The Rebels (7-5) are headed to the 2014 Heart of Dallas Bowl on New Year's Day to take on North Texas. Tickets are $75 apiece (UNLV students with valid I.D. are $20 apiece with a limit of two) and available now by calling (702) 739-FANS (3267) or visiting

Offensive Player of the Year
Derek Carr, Sr., QB, Fresno State

Defensive Player of the Year Shaquil Barrett, Sr., LB, Colorado State

Special Teams Player of the Year Carlos Wiggins, So., KR, New Mexico

Freshman of the Year Tyler Winston, Fr., WR, San José State

Coach of the Year Matt Wells, Utah State

2013 ALL-MOUNTAIN WEST FOOTBALL FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Pos. Player, Class, Team QB Derek Carr, Sr., Fresno State WR Davante Adams, So., Fresno State WR Chandler Jones, Sr., San José State RB Jay Ajayi, So., Boise State RB Kapri Bibbs, So., Colorado State TE Crockett Gillmore, Sr., Colorado State OL Charles Leno, Jr., Sr., Boise State OL Weston Richburg, Sr., Colorado State OL Austin Wentworth, Sr., Fresno State OL Joel Bitonio, Sr., UNR OL Tyler Larsen, Sr., Utah State PK Jared Roberts, Jr., Colorado State PR/KR Carlos Wiggins, So., New Mexico

DEFENSE Pos. Player, Class, Team DL Demarcus Lawrence, Jr., Boise State DL Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe, Sr., Boise State DL Brock Hekking, Jr., UNR DL Eddie Yarbrough, So., Wyoming LB Shaquil Barrett, Sr., Colorado State LB Keith Smith, Sr., San José State LB Jake Doughty, Sr., Utah State DB Derron Smith, Jr., Fresno State DB Nat Berhe, Sr., San Diego State DB Bené Benwikere, Sr., San José State DB Nevin Lawson, Sr., Utah State P Ben Skaer, Sr., New Mexico

2013 ALL-MOUNTAIN WEST FOOTBALL SECOND TEAM OFFENSE Pos. Player, Class, Team QB David Fales, Sr., San José State WR Devante Davis, Jr., UNLV WR Josh Harper, Jr., Fresno State RB Tim Cornett, Sr., UNLV RB Kasey Carrier, Sr., New Mexico TE Marcel Jensen, Sr., Fresno State OL Matt Paradis, Sr., Boise State OL Ty Sambrailo, Jr., Colorado State OL Bryce Quigley, Sr., San Diego State OL Nicholas Kaspar, Sr., San José State OL Brett Boyko, Jr., UNLV PK Austin Lopez, So., San José State PR/KR Isaiah Burse, Sr., Fresno State

DEFENSE Pos. Player, Class, Team DL Tyeler Davison, Jr., Fresno State DL Beau Yap, Jr., Hawai`i DL B.J. Larsen, Jr., Utah State DL AJ Pataili`I, Sr., Utah State LB Ejiro Ederaine, So., Fresno State LB Kyler Fackrell, So., Utah State LB Zach Vigil, Jr., Utah State DB Donte Deayon, So., Boise State DB Jeremy Ioane, Jr., Boise State DB Shaq Bell, Sr., Colorado State DB Marqueston Huff, Sr., Wyoming P Chase Tenpenny, Sr., UNR

2013 HONORABLE MENTION Air Force: Will Conant, Jr., PK; Michael Husar, Sr., OL. Boise State: Dan Goodale, Jr., PK; Matt Miller, Jr., WR; Shane Williams-Rhodes, So., WR/PR/KR. Colorado State: Kivon Cartwright, Jr., TE; Max Morgan, Jr., LB. Fresno State: Isaiah Burse, Sr., WR; L.J. Jones, Sr., DB; K arl Mickelsen, Jr., LB; Nikko Motta, Sr., DL; Garrett Swanson, So., P; Cody Wichmann, Jr., OL. Hawai`i: Ben Clarke, So., OL; Brenden Daley, Sr., LB; Clark Evans, Sr., TE; Scott Harding, Jr., P; John Hardy-Tuliau, Sr., DB; Art Laurel, Sr., LB; Siasau Matagiese, Sr., DL; Ne'Quan Phillips, So., DB. UNR: Charles Garrett, Jr., DB; Brandon Wimberly, Sr., WR. New Mexico: Dallas Bollema, Sr., LB; Brett Bowers, Jr., DL; LaMar Bratton, Jr., OL; Dillon Farrell, Sr., OL; Darryl Johnson, Sr., OL. San Diego State: Colin Lockett, Sr., PR/KR; Adam Muema, Jr., RB; Terry Poole, Jr., OL; Ezell Ruffin, Jr., WR; Nick Tenhaeff, Sr., LB; J.J. Whittaker, Jr., DB. San José State: Billy Freeman, Fr., TE; Ryan Jones, Sr., OL. UNLV: Frank Crawford, Sr., DB; Mark Garrick, Sr., DL; Cameron Jefferson, Jr., OL; Tani Maka, Sr., LB; Marcus Sullivan, Jr., PR/KR; Peni Vea, So., DB; Robert Waterman, Jr., OL. Utah State: Maurice Alexander, Sr., DB; Joey DeMartino, Sr., RB; Nick Diaz, Jr., PK; Jamie Markosian, Sr., OL; Bruce Natson, So., PR/KR; Eric Schultz, Sr., OL; Brian Suite, Jr., DB. Wyoming: Robert Herron, Sr., WR; Brett Smith, Jr., QB; Jordan Stanton, Jr., LB.

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts