Donate Tickets

The Peter Johann Memorial Scholarship

Since 1974, the UNLV menís soccer program has been quite fortunate to have the support of Las Vegas businessman Ken Johann and his wife, Alice. It was that fall in 1974 when the Johannsí son, Peter, died in a sporting accident. The next fall, the Johannís decided to honor their late son with a memorial scholarship. Established in 1975, the Peter Johann Memorial Scholarship assists one deserving student-athlete in attending classes at UNLV while participating in intercollegiate soccer. The scholarship is awarded to the student-athlete each season who demonstrates excellence in six areas: academic performance, techniques and tactics of soccer, team loyalty, cooperation, leadership and endurance. In return for their generosity, UNLVís first-ever on-campus soccer field was dedicated to the memory of Peter Johann when it was built on the north side of the campus in 1983.

Peter Johann Memorial Scholarships Winners

1975Rick Porter
1976John Romero
1977Glen Newbry
1978Brian Clayton
1979Thomas Lozzi
1980Dale Taylor
1981Sean Wright
1982Harry Fields
1983Lionel Saenz
1984Danny Anderson
1985Eddie Anibal
1986Rick Davis
1987Jason DiOrio
1988Bob Van Groski
1989Gerard James
1990Charles Caronia
1991Arthur Copeland
1992Michael Madrid
1993Noah Gins
1994Coby Holt
1995Phillip Detmer
1996Todd Roberts
1997Ryan Bindrup
1998 Kevin Lunkwitz
1999 Leo Cruz
2000 C.J.Schalyo
2001 Richard Riley
2002 Chris Henderson
2003 Boomer Arbelaez
2004 Joshua Starbird
2005 Omar Bywaters
2006 Roland Swanson
2007 Ricky Abrego
2008 Mike Mota
2009 Andrew Friel
2010 Joaquin Rivas
2011 Salvador Bernal
UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts