Donate Tickets
Rebels Make Move Into Second At MWC
Kim Bonney won the 100 breast title for UNLV on Friday night.
Kim Bonney won the 100 breast title for UNLV on Friday night.

Feb. 29, 2008

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The UNLV men's swimming and diving teams won four events, two in new conference record times, to extend its lead in the team standings on Friday night on the third day of the 2008 Mountain West Swimming and Diving Championships held at the Oklahoma City Community College. UNLV finished the night with 575 points and a 102-point lead over second-place Wyoming, while the Rebel women won three events and set one MWC record to move into second place with 432 points, 112 behind first place BYU (544).

The Rebel men, three-time defending champions, began the night by placing two in the top 16 in the 400 IM. Freshman Kier Maitland posted a time of 4:04.42 to finish in seventh, while John Mendoza won the consolation heat to place ninth in 3:57.14, the seventh-fastest time ever at UNLV. The next event saw a 3-4 finish by the Rebels, as Tiger Christian placed third in the 100 fly in 48.31, while Peter Lorring was just .02 behind to claim fourth. Christian's time ranks him seventh in UNLV history, and Lorring is now tied for eighth, and both times were NCAA 'B' times. Kyle Virva won the consolation heat in 49.12 to place ninth, while Daniel Egly took 15th in 50.97.

Richard Hortness then won the Rebels' first event of the night, and his second of the championships, when he claimed the 200 free in a time of 1:36.55, which ranks second-best at UNLV, and is a NCAA 'B' time. Johan Claar claimed fourth with a swim of 1:38.41, fifth-best in school history, while Magnus Egmar took eighth in 1:41.05. Calan Eldridge also scored in the event, taking 10th in 1:40.22.



Jonas Andersson added to the UNLV win count in the next event, as he topped the rest of the field by over a full second, winning the 100 breast title in a new conference and school record time of 53.46, which is also a NCAA "A" automatic time. Tamas Bosnyak took fourth in the event in 56.04, with Corban Fleming finishing in 11th (56.90).

A third straight win came in the 100 back, and this time UNLV posted a 1-2 finish, as Tiger Christian won his first career MWC title in a time of 48.67, second-fastest in UNLV history and a NCAA 'B' time. Devin Phillips took runner-up honors in 48.93, third-best all-time at UNLV. Jeff Ellingsen was fourth in 49.08, while Lorring took 10th in 50.57. In the next event, three divers scored on the men's platform for the Rebels, led by Matt Arb's 10th-place score of 214.40. Eli Tanimoto took 13th (194.00), and Vincent English was 15th (185.40).

The Rebel men finished the night with its second MWC record swim of the evening, claiming the 400 medley relay in a time of 3:13.44, topping their own previous record of 3:13.92 set in 2005, and earning a NCAA 'B' time as well. Swimming on the relay was Christian, Andersson, Lorring, and Hortness.

After UNLV (575) and Wyoming (473), BYU was in third with 449.5, with AIr Force in fourth (393). TCU stands in sixth (328), and Utah rounds out the men's field in sixth with 243.5 points.

On the women's side, Ana Dangalakova led off the night with a third-place finish in the 400 IM, touching the wall in 4:23.37, which ranks sixth all-time at UNLV. Lisa Gillesipe placed eighth (4:27.04), and Bailey Kuestermeyer finished in 13th in 4:30.00. The Rebels then placed three in the top six of the 100 fly, starting with Marina Sandback's runner-up finish in a new UNLV record time of 54.44. Jenna Neff took fourth in 55.11 and Amanda Weinbrecht was sixth 55.31, and all three were under the NCAA 'B' time standard.

Three Rebels swam in the consolation heat of the 200 free, led by Marva Harpak, who placed ninth in a time of 1:49.82, fourth-fastest in team history and a NCAA 'B' time. Kari Nettenstrom took 12th in 1:52.29, while Lara Sreibers finished 15th (1:52.84).

Kim Bonney claimed her second MWC title of the championships, as she turned in a new UNLV record time of 1:02.22 in the 100 breast. It was the first conference title in the 100 breast for UNLV since Jennifer Crowder in 1996, and the time is a NCAA 'B' standard. Alexa Graham took fifth in 1:05.27, while Kelsey Clarke placed eighth in 1:05.79.

The Rebel women added a second win on the night in the next event, and just like the men it was a 1-2 finish in the 100 back. Megan Hunt-Higgins won her second event of the championships with a time of 54.68, just out-touching teammate Amanda Weinbrecht. The two now rank second and third all-time at UNLV, and both times were NCAA 'B' swims as well. Jenna Neff scored in the event as well, taking 13th in 57.96.

UNLV ended the night with a victory in the 400 medley relay, and again it was in a new conference record time of 3:41.63, topping the previous record by over a full second and in a NCAA 'B' time. Turning in the record time was Weinbrecht, Bonney, Sandback, and Hunt-Higgins.

After BYU and UNLV, Wyoming is third on the women's side with 393.5 points, while Utah is fourth (375), Colorado State fifth (237), New Mexico sixth (192), TCU seventh (173.5), San Diego State eighth (121), and Air Force is ninth (97)

The four-day meet concludes on Saturday.

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron