Donate Tickets
Freeman Memorial To Feature Loaded Field

Jan. 13, 2014

LAS VEGAS ( - Players from some of the top college programs in the United States, including host UNLV, will gather in Las Vegas this weekend for the 12th annual Freeman Memorial Women's Tennis Championships at the Fertitta Tennis Complex on campus.

Individual competitors will be supplied by teams that include six of the top 10 from the season's initial ITA rankings: No. 1 Stanford, No. 2 Florida, No. 3 North Carolina, No. 5 (tied) USC and UCLA and No. 10 Duke. Host UNLV, ranked 50th nationally, is expected to add five singles players and three doubles teams to the field.

Action begins with doubles each day at 10 a.m. PST on Friday and Saturday with the finals scheduled for Sunday. Admission to all matches is free. The event features two flights each of both singles and doubles along with consolation rounds.

The impressive field boasts 12 of the top 50 individuals and two of the sport's top-three ranked doubles teams scheduled to compete.

USC has dominated the singles action as of late, providing the last three champions. Last year's event saw 17th-ranked Sabrina Santamaria of the Trojans defeat No. 11 Gina Suarez-Malaguti of North Carolina, 6-0, 6-1. Santamaria also won the doubles crown when she and Kaitlyn Christian, who made up the nation's top-ranked duo, doubled up second-seeded Ashley Dai and Whitney Kay of North Carolina, 8-4.

Doubles Round of 16 - 10:00 a.m.
Singles Round of 32 - Follow
Singles Round of 16 - Follow

Saturday Doubles Quarterfinals - 10:00 a.m. Singles Quarterfinals - Follow Singles Semifinals - Follow

Sunday Doubles Semifinals - 10:00 a.m. Doubles Final - Follow Singles Final - Follow

FREEMAN MEMORIAL ALL-TIME SINGLES CHAMPIONS YEAR PLAYER, SCHOOL 2013 Sabrina Santamaria USC 2012 Zoe Scandalis, USC 2011 Maria Sanchez, USC 2010 Stacey Tan, Stanford 2009 Irini Falconi, Georgia Tech 2008 Amanda Fink, USC 2007 No Champion (Weather) 2006 Celia Durkin, Stanford 2005 Shadisha Robinson, Georgia 2004 Theresa Logar, Stanford 2003 Vilmarie Castellvi, Tennessee

FREEMAN MEMORIAL ALL-TIME DOUBLES CHAMPIONS YEAR PLAYERS, SCHOOL 2013 Sabrina Santamaria/Kaitlyn Christian, USC 2012 Pamela Montez/Courtney Dolehide, UCLA 2011 Maria Sanchez/Kaitlyn Christian, USC 2010 Stacey Tan/Mallory Burdette, Stanford 2009 Renata Kucerkova/Anastasia Petukhova, Fresno State 2008 Jessica Nguyen/Whitney Deason, Stanford 2007 No Champion (Weather) 2006 Alice Barnes/Anne Yelsey, Stanford 2005 Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda, UCLA 2004 Boglarka Berecz/Nina Suvak, Florida 2003 Vilmarie Castellvi/Melissa Schaub, Tennessee



UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts