Donate Tickets
Top Tennis Tourney On Tap

Admission to the Fertitta Tennis Complex is free of charge.

Jan. 15, 2013

LAS VEGAS ( - Players from some of the top college programs in the United States, including host UNLV, will gather in Las Vegas this weekend for the 11th annual Freeman Memorial Women's Tennis Championships at the Fertitta Tennis Complex on campus.

Individual competitors will be supplied by teams that include four of the top five in the season's initial ITA rankings: No. 1 Florida, No. 2 UCLA, No. 4 USC and No. 5 Stanford. Also sending contingents will be No. 8 North Carolina and No. 66 Oregon. Host UNLV, ranked 50th nationally, is expected to add eight singles players and four doubles teams to the field.

Action begins with doubles each day at 10 a.m. PST on Friday and Saturday with the finals scheduled for Sunday. Admission to all matches is free of charge. The event features two flights each of both singles and doubles along with consolation rounds.

The impressive field boasts eight of the top 30 individuals and two of the sport's top-eight ranked doubles teams scheduled to compete. The singles draw is set to feature second-ranked Krista Hardebeck of Stanford as well as four other top-20 players: No. 11 Gina Suarez-Malaguti of North Carolina, No. 14 Danielle Lao of USC, No. 17 Sabrina Santamaria of USC and No. 20 Alexandra Josifoska of host UNLV. Doubles will be led by USC's top-ranked tandem of Santamaria and Kaitlyn Christian and No. 8 Ashley Dai and Whitney Kay of North Carolina.

Last year's event saw 19th-ranked freshman Zoe Scandalis of USC rally to upset top-ranked Mallory Burdette of Stanford 6-7 (8), 7-6 (5), 6-3. In doubles, the 23rd-ranked duo of Pamela Montez and Courtney Dolehide UCLA downed third-ranked Christian and Santamaria of USC 8-4.

Doubles Round of 16 - 10:00 a.m.
Singles Round of 32 - Follow
Singles Round of 16 - Follow

Saturday Doubles Quarterfinals - 10:00 a.m. Singles Quarterfinals - Follow Singles Semifinals - Follow

Sunday Doubles Semifinals - 10:00 a.m. Doubles Final - Follow Singles Final - Follow

FREEMAN MEMORIAL ALL-TIME SINGLES CHAMPIONS YEAR, PLAYER, SCHOOL 2012, Zoe Scandalis, USC 2011, Maria Sanchez, USC 2010, Stacey Tan, Stanford 2009, Irini Falconi, Georgia Tech 2008, Amanda Fink, USC 2007, No Champion (Weather) 2006, Celia Durkin, Stanford 2005, Shadisha Robinson, Georgia 2004, Theresa Logar, Stanford 2003, Vilmarie Castellvi, Tennessee

FREEMAN MEMORIAL ALL-TIME DOUBLES CHAMPIONS YEAR, PLAYERS, SCHOOL 2012, Pamela Montez/Courtney Dolehide, UCLA 2011, Maria Sanchez/Kaitlyn Christian , USC 2010, Stacey Tan/Mallory Burdette, Stanford 2009, Renata Kucerkova/Anastasia Petukhova, Fresno State 2008, Jessica Nguyen/Whitney Deason, Stanford 2007, No Champion (Weather) 2006, Alice Barnes/Anne Yelsey, Stanford 2005, Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda, UCLA 2004, Boglarka Berecz/Nina Suvak, Florida 2003, Vilmarie Castellvi/Melissa Schaub, Tennessee



UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron