Donate Tickets
Women's Tennis Quartet Named All-MW On Eve Of Tourney

April 26, 2017

LAS VEGAS ( - UNLV saw a total of four players named to the Women's Tennis All-Mountain West Team as the league announced its annual awards Wednesday.

The Rebels boasted a trio of players repeating the honor in singles this spring: senior Carol Yang (Shenzhen, China), sophomore Aiwen Zhu (Wuxi, China) and sophomore Anna Bogoslavets (Kiev, Ukraine).

Yang, who is the highest ranked player in the league at No. 48 in the nation, had two victories over players ranked in the top-15 at the time of the match, including the country's current No. 7 player, as part of her 24-10 overall record.

Zhu, last year's MW Freshman of the Year, is currently 21-6 overall and went 4-1 vs. league opponents.

Bogoslavets sits 18-6 overall after going a perfect 6-0 vs. MW opponents for the second straight season.

One UNLV doubles team was included on the All-MW list as Zhu and partner En-Pei Huang Kaohsiung City, Taiwan) were honored after posting an 8-6 mark.

The MW Coach of the Year will decided by a vote of the coaches following the tournament.

The 2017 MW Women's Tennis Championship will be held April 27-30 beginning with the first round on Thursday. The Rebels, who are defending champions after winning last year's event in Fort Collins, Colorado, tied with Fresno State for first place in the West Division. This spring marked the fourth regular-season crown in UNLV women's history but first since 2011 -- all coming under head coach Kevin Cory.

After enjoying a bye, top-seeded UNLV (16-7/5-1 in MW) will open play on Friday at 10 a.m. PT and face the winner of Thursday's opening-round match between #8 Utah State and #9 San Diego State. Saturday's semifinals are slated for 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. PT while Sunday's championship will begin at 11 a.m. PT. The semifinals and championship matches will be broadcast live and for free on the Mountain West Network.



Tickets are available at the main entrance of the facility for $5 per day ($3 for students with a valid ID from a MW member institution and for kids 3-12 years old -- 2-and-under are free) or $15 for an all-session pass.

For complete coverage of the 2017 Mountain West Women's Tennis Championship, visit

2017 Women's Tennis All-Mountain West Team

SINGLES *Chloe Forlini, Sr., Air Force TJ Fumagalli, Fr., Air Force Anja Dokic, Fr., Boise State Katerina Stloukalova, Fr., Fresno State Emma Wilson, So., Fresno State *Claudia Herrero, Jr., Nevada Shelia Morales, Sr., Nevada Kennedy Davis, Sr., San Diego State **Sybille Gauvain, Jr., San José State **Marie Klocker, Sr., San José State *Anna Bogoslavets, So., UNLV *Carol Yang, Sr., UNLV *Aiwen Zhu, So., UNLV *Nini Guensler, Sr., Utah State Dorottya Jonas, Sr., Wyoming **Magdalena Stencel, Jr., Wyoming

DOUBLES TJ Fumagalli/Elizabeth Barnickel, Air Force Hanna Kantenwein/Wiktoria Nosek, Boise State Georgia Lawson/Emma Wilson, Fresno State **Blaga Delic/Sheila Morales, Nevada *Sybille Gauvain/Marie Klocker, San José State Aiwen Zhu/En-Pei Huang, UNLV Sabrina Demerath/Nini Guensler, Utah State Elisa Koonik/Tessa van Der Ploeg, Wyoming

*2016 All-MW **2015, '16 All-MW

Player of the Year: Claudia Herrero, Nevada

Freshman of the Year: Katerina Stloukalova, Fresno State

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts