Donate Tickets
Meggs Races To Saturday's 200m, 400m Finals

Monay Meggs qualified for both the 200m and 400m finals on Saturday at the Air Force Invitational.

Monay Meggs qualified for both the 200m and 400m finals on Saturday at the Air Force Invitational.

Jan. 24, 2014

2014 Air Force Invitational Quick Links: Host Website | Schedule | Entries | Friday's Results

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program saw its distance medley relay finish first Friday at the Air Force Invitational, which is being held at the Cadet Field House in USAF Academy, Colo. Besides the DMR's showing, the Rebels' Monay Meggs qualified for Saturday's finals in both the 200m and 400m.

In a race that featured 47 participants, the Scarlet & Gray had six of its own finish between third through 19th in the 200m. Meggs, who qualified third behind a time of 24.91, earned a spot in Saturday's final alongside teammates Ashley Franklin (7th/25.7 PB), Kenia Bonilla (10th/25.45 PB) and Laura Anuakpado (12th/25.59).

Meggs moved on to the 400m finale after legging out the second-fastest time of 56.41.

The DMR quartet of Miranda Menzies, Kayah Agudo, Laura Affeld and Auzsane Crowe-Carter combined for a time of 12:53.83.

Off the track, Krystal Wharton (18-6.4/5.65m) led a foursome of long jumpers that competed in the finals of the event. Wharton was fourth overall, while Akia Armstrong (18-0/5.51m) was sixth, Olivia Hudson (17-10.9/5.46m PB) was ninth and Amber Sanford (17-8.8/5.41m) was tenth.

"I'm very proud of how each of them competed," said head coach Yvonne Wade. "We still have a lot of work to do, but things are looking good."

The 13-team meet concludes on Saturday afternoon. The Rebels will begin the day at 11:00 am MT (10:00 am PT) in the triple jump and the 60m hurdles. In all, UNLV will compete in nine events with the 4x400m relay (4:00 pm MT/3:00 pm PT) concluding the day's schedule.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron