Donate Tickets
Rebels Finish Day One With Numerous Personal Bests

Feb. 2, 2018

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program registered numerous personal-best times and distances on the first day of the New Mexico Collegiate Classic Friday at the Albuquerque Convention Center. MacKenna Howard and Sydney Land notched the best efforts for the Rebels with seventh-place finishes in the weight throw (54-3.25/16.54m) and 400m (57.34 PB), respectively.

Madison Aldred ran a personal-best time of 57.39 in the 400m, which placed her eighth overall – one spot behind Land.

UNLV saw six of its eight participants in the 200m post personal-best times, including Kaysha Love (13th/23.96) and Najia Hudspeth (20th/24.27) and Nylia Hudspeth (25th/24.54).

REBEL NOTES:
-Jasmyne Graham was one of three long jumpers to record a personal-best height with a 19-0.75 (5.81m) measurement.
-Cassidy Osborne-Butler threw a personal-best distance of 47-8.00 (14.53m) in the weight throw.

NEXT FOR THE REBELS: The Rebels, who are competing against No. 7 Louisiana State, No. 8 Texas, No. 10 Mississippi, No. 22 Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas State, CSUN, Fort Lewis, New Mexico Highlands, New Mexico State, Sacramento State, Stephen F. Austin, UC Davis, UNR, UTEP and the host Lobos close out the meet Saturday.

Saturday’s action starts at 9:00 am PT (10:00 am MT) with the shot put and ends with the 4x400m relay (2:10 pm PT/3:10 pm MT). The Rebels also have entrants in the mile, 400m and 800m as well as the 60m and 60m hurdles, which both have qualifying, semifinal and final rounds.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron