Donate Tickets
Blok Runs Her Way To 100m Quarterfinals




May 23, 2013

AUSTIN (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program watched four of its own participate on the first day of the 2013 NCAA West Preliminary in Austin on Thursday. Emily Blok led the Rebel contingent with a time of 11.45 in the 100m, which was the 14th best clocked in the event. By virtue of finishing third in her heat, Blok automatically advanced to Friday's 100m quarterfinals.

Unfortunately, three other Rebels saw their seasons come to a close in three events Thursday evening. Uchechi Anunkor finished 29th overall in the 100m with a time of 11.65. Auzsane Crowe-Carter placed 31st in the 800m (2:10.12), while Monay Meggs was 43rd (55.97) in the 400m.

Besides running in Friday's 100m at 6:30 pm CT (4:30 pm PT), Blok will compete in the first round of the 200m about an hour and a half later at 8:00 pm along with Anunkor and Meggs.

Erin Morris will join the trio in Friday's action with her entry in the opening round of the 100m hurdles at 5:00 pm CT (3:00 pm PT).

Ashley Franklin, Myshauna Alexander and Taylar Mills will have to wait two more days before their events take place. Franklin will partner with Anunkor, Blok and Meggs to run the 4x400m relay, while Alexander and Mills will head to the field for the javelin and triple jump, respectively.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron