Donate Tickets
Running Late In Texas

Emily Blok qualified for Saturday's 200m quarters, will run in 4x100m relay, too.

Emily Blok qualified for Saturday's 200m quarters, will run in 4x100m relay, too.

May 24, 2013

AUSTIN (UNLVRebels.com) - Day two of the 2013 NCAA West Preliminary was delayed nearly three hours on Friday evening due to inclement weather in the Austin area. Four members of the UNLV track & field team were finally able to take to the Mike A. Myers Stadium track once the surface was deemed fit for competition. For the second consecutive day, Emily Blok made it out of the first round of a race - 200m - to qualify for the following day's quarterfinals.

With an hour to spare in the day, three Rebels - Emily Blok, Monay Meggs and Uchechi Anunkor - ran in the 200m at 11:00 pm CT (9:00 pm PT). Blok finished third in her heat with a time of 23.79, which was the 14th fastest time in the race. She moves on to Saturday's quarterfinals at 7:35 pm CT (5:35 pm PT). Unfortunately, Meggs (38th, 24.51) and Anunkor (45th, 24.90) did not finish high enough to advance.

Earlier in the day, Blok ran in the 100m quarterfinals, but placed 15th overall with a time of 11.86. She was only .09 seconds behind the 12th-place qualifier and her time of 11.77.

Erin Morris also saw action under the Central Texas stars with her participation in the 100m hurdles (40th, 14.45).

Saturday is the third and final day of the West Prelim, and it will see three Rebels make their first appearances at the meet. Ashley Franklin will join Blok, Meggs and Anunkor in the 4x100m relay (6:00 pm CT/4:00 pm PT), while Myshauna Alexander and Taylar Mills will compete in the javelin and triple jump, respectively.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron