Donate Tickets
Smith-Barnett Runs Her Way To 100m Quarterfinals

Championships Central | Schedule | Heat Sheets | Watch Live | Live Results

AUSTIN, Texas (UNLVRebels.com) - The No. 25 UNLV track & field program watched four of its own participate on the first day of the 2017 NCAA West Preliminary in Austin at the University of Texas at Mike A. Myers Stadium. Destiny Smith-Barnett led the Rebel contingent with a time of 11.06 in the 100m, which was the sixth best clocked in the event. By virtue of finishing first in her heat, Smith-Barnett automatically advanced to Friday's 100m quarterfinals.

The West Preliminary is one of two qualifiers the NCAA is hosting before its Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Oregon, on June 7-10. The East Preliminary will run concurrently - with the West - in Lexington, Kentucky at the University of Kentucky.

Two other Rebels also participated Thursday evening. Mandy Chitwood finished 36th overall in the 800m with a time of 2:11.06, while Drea Austin placed 44th in the 100m (11.73).

Kaysee Pilgrim, Taylor Pegram and Jaela Williams will start Friday's slate of events at 4:30 p.m. CT (2:30 p.m. PT) in the high jump and 100m hurdles, respectively. Pilgrim carries a program-best distance of 6-2.75 (1.90m) in the high jump, which occurred at the MW Outdoors, while Pegram (13.15) and Williams (13.58) ranks 17th and 40th, respectively, in the 100m hurdles.

Smith-Barnett (13th: 22.98) and Austin (36th: 23.51) will also have a go Friday in the 200m at 7:30 p.m. CT (5:30 pm. PT).

The 4x100m relay team (sixth: 43.93) of Smith-Barnett, Austin, Kaysha Love and Pegram will have to wait until Saturday 6:00 p.m. CT (4:00 p.m. PT). The 4x400m relay squad, which is ranked 23rd (3:38.89), will close out the track portion of the day and be comprised of Chitwood, Austin, Nylia Hudspeth and Micayla Coquia (Las Vegas/Legacy HS).

 

 

Pilgrim is the lone Rebel entered in an event (high jump) that will only be contested one day, while the remainder must advance out of their first rounds to the quarterfinals over consecutive days.

The top 12 student-athletes from each event will advance to the NCAA Outdoor Championships next month in Eugene.

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron