Donate Tickets
Eugene Bound

UNLV's Krystal Wharton had a personal-best long jump Friday at the NCAA Outdoor West Preliminary Championships.

UNLV's Krystal Wharton had a personal-best long jump Friday at the NCAA Outdoor West Preliminary Championships.

May 29, 2014

2014 NCAA Outdoor West Preliminary Championships:
Website | Thursday's Results 800m & Long Jump

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (UNLVRebels.com) - UNLV track & field's Krystal Wharton and Auzsane Crowe-Carter had strong showings on the first day (Thursday) of the 2014 NCAA Outdoor Preliminary Championships. Both Rebels advanced in their respective events with Wharton earning a trip to NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Ore. (June 11-14) in the long jump, while Crowe-Carter moves onto Friday's quarterfinals in the 800m. The three-day event is hosted by the University of Arkansas at John McDonnell Field.

The Scarlet & Gray got the day started properly with Wharton's 10th-place finish in the long jump behind a personal-best distance of 20-1.5 (6.13m). The career leap came on her second attempt of the day.

Amber Sanford was a second Rebel to compete in the long jump, but her best leap of 18-10 (5.74m) placed her 33rd overall.

Crowe-Carter, who finished first overall at the Mountain West's Outdoor Championships two weeks ago, qualified for the quarterfinals with the ninth-fastest time of 2:07.14. She finished fourth in her heat (third), but was the top qualifier based on time.

Joining Crowe-Carter at the track Friday will be teammate Erin Morris, who will participate in the 100m hurdles at 5:30 pm CT (3:30 pm PT). Crowe-Carter's run in the 800m quarters will take place nearly two hours later at 7:15 pm CT (5:15 pm PT).

The 4x400m relay (Crowe-Carter, Kenia Bonilla, Alva Castillo and Noela Estrada) and Miller will have to wait until Saturday, the third and final day of competition, for their opportunity to compete.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron