Donate Tickets
Morris Moves On To Saturday's Quarterfinals

Erin Morris advanded to the quarterfinals of the 100m hurdles after her performance in the prelims Friday.

Erin Morris advanded to the quarterfinals of the 100m hurdles after her performance in the prelims Friday.

May 30, 2014

2014 NCAA Outdoor West Preliminary Championships:
Website | Friday's Results 100m Hurdles & 800m

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program will have two individuals and its 4x400m relay team participate on the third and final day of the 2014 NCAA Outdoor West Preliminary Championships Saturday. Erin Morris advanced to the quarterfinals of the 100m hurdles after her heat Friday afternoon, and she will join Cortney Miller (hammer throw) and the relay quartet at John McDonnell Field on the campus of the University of Arkansas.

Morris finished fourth in her heat - 19th overall - of the hurdles in a time of 13.79. By virtue of her time, she claimed the second of six spots reserved for competitors that finished outside of the top three in their respective heats.

Unfortunately, Auzsane Crowe-Carter's participation in the 800m came to an end with her 21st-place finish in Friday's quarterfinals with a time of 2:09.87.

Saturday's competition will begin with Miller in the hammer at 10:00 am CT (8:00 am PT). Morris and the relay comprised of Auzsane Crowe-Carter, Kenia Bonilla, Alva Castillo and Noela Estrada will have to wait until the evening hours with the former scheduled to run the 100m hurdles at 7:20 pm CT (5:20 pm PT) and the latter closing down the meet at 9:45 pm CT (7:45 pm PT).

UNLV's Krystal Wharton has already advanced to the NCAA Outdoor Championships, which will be held June 11-14 in Eugene, Ore., after she finished 10th with a personal-best long jump of 20-1.5 (6.13m) Thursday.

 

 

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron