Donate Tickets
Rebels Travel To Albuquerque For UNM Classic

Feb. 1, 2018

@UNLVTrackCC | New Mexico Collegiate Classic: Program | Live Results | Live Stream ($)

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program will make its first of two scheduled trips to the Duke City during their indoor season this weekend for the New Mexico Collegiate Classic. The Rebels will participate alongside No. 7 Louisiana State, No. 8 Texas, No. 10 Mississippi, No. 22 Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas State, CSUN, Fort Lewis, New Mexico Highlands, New Mexico State, Sacramento State, Stephen F. Austin, UC Davis, UNR, UTEP and the host Lobos in the two-day meet held at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

The Scarlet & Gray will compete in four events Friday with the long jump and weight throw getting underway at 3:00 pm PT (4:00 pm MT). The 400m and 200m will follow at 4:15 pm PT (5:15 pm MT) and 7:10 pm PT (8:10 pm MT), respectively.

 

 

Saturday's action starts at 9:00 am PT (10:00 am MT) with the shot put and ends with the 4x400m relay (2:10 pm PT/3:10 pm MT). The Rebels also have entrants in the mile, 400m and 800m as well as the 60m and 60m hurdles, which both have qualifying, semifinal and final rounds.

Through two weekends of action, UNLV's Najia Hudspeth owns the fastest time in the 400m (54.68) posted by a Mountain West student-athlete. Drea Austin sits second and third in the 60m (7.47) and 200m (24.33), respectively, amongst MW competitors. Additionally, three other Rebels sit in second place in the 800m (Avi'Tal Perteete/2:01.01), 60m hurdles (Jasmyne Graham/8.48) and shot put (MacKenna Howard/52-5.5/15.99m), while the 4x400m relay (Najia Hudspeth, Nylia Hudspeth, Austin, Peteete) ranks second, as well.

UNLV will make a return visit to Albuquerque in three weeks (Feb. 22-24) for the MW Indoor Championships; however, a second trip to Seattle (Feb. 9-10) will fall in between the jaunts to the Land of Enchantment.

UNLV Mountain West NCAA Learfield Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron MGM Resorts