Donate Tickets
Rebels Head Back To Flagstaff, Once Again




Feb. 6, 2014

2014 Mountain T's Invitational Links: Schedule | Friday's Heat Sheets

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program resumes its 2014 schedule this weekend at Northern Arizona's Mountain T's Invitational in Flagstaff, Ariz., after taking a week off from competition. This will be the Rebels second trip to an NAU-hosted meet at the Walkup Skydome this season.

Unlike January's Lumberjack Challenge, the Mountain T's Invitational will be a two-day event with the women's pentathlon and men's heptathlon mixed into the schedule.

"We are excited to head to Flagstaff again for some fine-tuning, as we get closer to the conference's indoor championships," said head coach Yvonne Wade. "We have a young team, so the more confidence they build the better. We are looking forward to having some good performances this weekend."

The Scarlet & Gray's Taylar Mills, Juliet Summers-Hernandez and Kylee Vandenberg are slated to go in the pentathlon, which begins Friday at 9:30 am MT (8:30 am PT) with the 60m hurdles. The trio will then move on to the high jump, shot put and long jump before the 800m run concludes the five-event discipline at 2:45 pm MT (1:45 pm PT).

After a break in the action, the Invite resumes at 4:00 pm MT (3:00 pm PT) with three field events (triple jump, shot put and high jump) and one on the track (200m).

Leading the Rebel contingent at the Invite will be Adrianna Oliva, who unleashed a personal-best throw of 46-7 (14.20m) in the shot put at the Challenge. Oliva's measurement moved her up one spot to fourth place in UNLV's all-time indoor performance list for the event. Two others that performed well at that same meet were high jumpers Madison Johonnot (5-5.75/1.67m) and Myra Dean (5-1.8/1.57m), who finished third and eighth, respectively. Johonnot will also compete in the triple jump Friday alongside teammates Olivia Hudson and Amber Sanford.

 

 

Monay Meggs, who ran the 60m at the Challenge, will take to the track Friday in the 200m only two weeks after legging out a third-place finish (24.70) at the Air Force Invitational.
UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron