Donate Tickets
Rebels Head To NCAA Preliminary Meet

UNLV will send nine members of its team to Arkansas for this weekend's NCAA Preliminary meet.

UNLV will send nine members of its team to Arkansas for this weekend's NCAA Preliminary meet.

May 27, 2014

2014 NCAA West Preliminary: Website | Schedule | Start List

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program will send nine members of its team to the 2014 NCAA Outdoor Preliminary Championships in Fayetteville, Ark., May 29-31. The Rebels will compete in five events at the meet hosted at John McDonnell Field by the University of Arkansas.

The Scarlet & Gray will be led by Auzsane Crowe-Carter, a member of the 2014 Mountain West's Outdoor All-Conference Team after winning the 800m and helping the 4x400m relay to a third-place finish. Crowe-Carter broke the stadium mark at the league's championship two weeks ago with a time of 2:08.76. In April, she ran a personal-best time of 2:06.03 at the Mondo Mid-Major Challenge in Sacramento.

Crowe-Carter will also run a leg of the 4x400m relay. She will be joined by Kenia Bonilla, Alva Castillo and Noela Estrada, while Mandy Chitwood will serve as an alternate.

Erin Morris was another Rebel that earned all-conference honors behind a time of 13.54 in the 100m hurdles. A day earlier in the preliminary round, Morris ran a personal-best time of 13.48 - third-best time in UNLV's outdoor performance list.

Off the track, Amber Sanford and Krystal Wharton will compete in the long jump and Cortney Miller will throw in the hammer. Both long jumpers set personal-best marks at the adidas/Steve Scott Invitational earlier this month with the former jumping 19-7.5 (5.98m) to the latter's 19-9.75 (6.04m).

 

 

Miller registered a personal-best toss of 195-4 (59.54m) at the conference meet. The distance upped her spot in the performance list to third.

The first Rebels to see action will be Sanford and Wharton in the long jump Thursday afternoon at 2:00 pm CT (noon PT). Crowe-Carter will run under the lights in the 800m at 8:35 pm CT (6:35 pm PT).

Morris will run the 100m hurdles at 5:30 pm CT (3:30 pm PT), while the 4x400m relay and Miller will have to wait until Saturday, the third and final day of competition, for their opportunity to compete.

UNLV Mountain West NCAA IMG Born and Raised Coke Zero Findlay Toyota Chevron