Rebel Alumnae Compete At USA Championships
 
Emily Blok will run in the 100m first round of the 2013 USA Outdoor Championships on Thursday.
Emily Blok will run in the 100m first round of the 2013 USA Outdoor Championships on Thursday.
 
 
 

June 19, 2013

2013 USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships: Schedule // Start Lists // Broadcast Schedule

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program will be well represented in Des Moines, Iowa this week at the 2013 USA Outdoor Championships, which begins Wednesday, June 19 and runs through Sunday, June 23. Amanda Bingson, Emily Blok, Lekeisha Lawson and Christine Spence will participate at the five-day meet contested at historic Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University.

Lawson and Blok will be the first to compete with Scarlet & Gray ties with their entries in the second and fourth heats, respectively, in the first round of Thursday's 100m at 6:25 pm CT (4:25 pm PT). Lawson qualified with the 16th-fastest time (11.14), while Blok is 26th after posting an 11.32 showing at the 2013 Mountain West Outdoor Championships in May.

On Friday, Spence - the 10th seed - will run in the first round of the 400m hurdles at 5:45 pm CT (3:45 pm PT).

Bingson, a 2012 Olympian and two-time USTFCCCA Outdoor All-American, is seeded third overall in the hammer throw with a 239-4 (72.95m) mark. She will have to wait until Saturday at 3:30 pm CT (1:30 pm PT) to compete.

The Championships will be broadcast by four different networks beginning with ESPN2's coverage on June 21 from 8:00 to 10:00 pm CT (6:00 to 8:00 pm PT). On June 22, Universal Sports will air from 4:00 to 5:00 pm CT (2:00 to 3:00 pm PT) before giving way to NBC Sports Network from 5:00 to 7:00 pm CT (3:00 to 5:00 pm PT). Three different networks will broadcast on June 23 with Universal Sports kicking off the day's action from 2:00 to 3:00 pm CT (noon to 1:00 pm PT) before NBCSN (3:00 to 4:00 pm CT/1:00 to 2:00 pm PT) and NBC (4:00 to 6:00 pm/2:00 to 4:00 pm PT) close out the televised portion of the event.

 

 

A year ago at the 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials - which doubled as the 2012 USA Outdoor Championships - Bingson, Spence and Lawson had strong showings at the meet held in Eugene, Ore. Bingson finished as the runner-up in the hammer, while Spence was seventh in the 400m hurdles and Lawson was 13th in the 100m.

2013 USA Championships Schedule
June 20-23 - Drake Stadium - Des Moines, Iowa

Thursday, June 20 6:25 pm CT (4:25 pm PT): 100m First Round - Lekeisha Lawson (second heat) & Emily Blok (fourth heat)

Friday, June 21 5:45 pm CT (3:45 pm PT): 400m Hurdles First Round - Christine Spence (second heat) 6:30 pm CT (4:30 pm PT): 100m Semifinals 8:08 pm CT (6:08 pm PT): 100m Final

Saturday, June 22 3:30 pm CT (1:30 pm PT): Hammer Throw Final - Amanda Bingson (second flight) 4:03 pm CT (2:03 pm PT): 400m Hurdles Semifinals

Sunday, June 23 3:44 pm CT (1:44 pm PT): 400m Hurdles Final

 
Online Store