Lawson Advances At USA Outdoor Championships
 
Former Rebel Lekeisha Lawson finished 11th overall in the first round of the 100m Thursday.
Former Rebel Lekeisha Lawson finished 11th overall in the first round of the 100m Thursday.
 
 
 

June 20, 2013

2013 USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships: Schedule // Start Lists // 100m First Round Results

DES MOINES, Iowa (UNLVRebels.com) - Two of the four individuals with UNLV ties competed Thursday evening at the 2013 USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships (June 19-23) in Des Moines, Iowa. Lekeisha Lawson and Emily Blok both ran in 100m first round, which was contested at historic Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University.

Lawson (2006-09) won her heat - the second of four preliminary heats - with a final time of 11.48. By virtue of her placement, she automatically qualifies for Friday's semifinal round as the 11th seed. The semis are scheduled to start at 6:30 pm CT (4:30 pm PT). The final for the event will take place nearly two hours later at 8:42 pm CT (6:42 pm PT).

Blok, who just finished her senior year at UNLV, was 29th overall with an effort of 12.04.

Joining Lawson on Friday will be Christine Spence (2001-2005), the 10th seed in the 400m hurdles. The first round of the event will begin at 5:45 pm CT (3:45 pm PT).

The fourth Rebel in Iowa is Amanda Bingson (2009-12), a 2012 Olympian and two-time USTFCCCA Outdoor All-American. Bingson is seeded third overall in the hammer throw with a 239-4 (72.95m) mark. She will compete on Saturday at 3:30 pm CT (1:30 pm PT).

The Championships will be broadcast by four different networks beginning with ESPN2's coverage on Friday from 8:00 to 10:00 pm CT (6:00 to 8:00 pm PT). Universal Sports will air some of Saturday's action at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm CT (2:00 to 3:00 pm PT) before giving way to NBC Sports Network from 5:00 to 7:00 pm CT (3:00 to 5:00 pm PT). Three different networks will broadcast Sunday - the fifth and final day of competition - in Iowa. Universal Sports begins the finale at 2:00 to 3:00 pm CT (noon to 1:00 pm PT) before NBCSN (3:00 to 4:00 pm CT/1:00 to 2:00 pm PT) and NBC (4:00 to 6:00 pm/2:00 to 4:00 pm PT) closes out the televised portion of the event.

 

 

A year ago at the 2012 US Olympic Trials - which doubled as the 2012 USA Outdoor Championships - Bingson, Spence and Lawson had strong showings at the meet held in Eugene, Ore. Bingson finished as the runner-up in the hammer, while Spence was seventh in the 400m hurdles and Lawson was 13th in the 100m.
 
Online Store